Applications to eureKAWARDS 2021 are now closed.

We invite you to learn more about the contest on this page and get ready to apply in 2022 !

eureKAWARDS contest 2021

eureKAWARDS is a science-based pitch contest aimed at discovering and supporting ambitious synthetic biology projects from across Europe.

You are a researcher working on a fantastic synthetic biology project in your university lab, biohacking space or personal garage and looking to get a well-deserved head start?

eureKAWARDS is exactly what you need: a great opportunity to present your idea,Ā concept or even your pre-startup plan in front of our panel of renowned scientificĀ experts and business partners to compete for a full year of free access to eureKAREā€™s synthetic biology studio, eureKASYNBIO.

The eureKAWARDS winner gets

Free access to premium services provided by the eureKASYNBIOĀ startup studio team and its network of validated partners for one year. This includes advice concerning strategy, equity financing, grants, communications and more.

The winner will also receiveĀ guidance and supportĀ from eureKAREā€™s team and broad network of validated academic and industrial professionals in synthetic biology. In addition, significant exposure to qualified investors and media platforms will be given to the winning project.

eureKARE will alsoĀ prioritize the winning project and consider investingĀ in the startup upon theĀ achievement of proof of concept and value creation milestones.

To Apply

Access to the eureKAWARDS contest isĀ free.

The application will be submittedĀ online, in English only.

Information provided by the applicant via the application form will beĀ considered asĀ non-confidential.


Candidates must beĀ researchers orĀ makersĀ with an irrepressible desire to turn a disruptive idea into an innovative product. This product is expected to add significant value to the lives of patients and consumers or to the success of commercial users.

Only applications from the field ofĀ synthetic biology, including but not only DNA synthesis, gene editing, gene therapy, mRNA vaccines and therapeutics, enzyme engineering, synthetic cells, xeno-nucleic acids, and CAR T-cells, will be considered and only applicants with legal capacityĀ based and active in the European Union, the United Kingdom, Switzerland and IsraĆ«lĀ are invited to apply.

The scope of the competition is open toĀ biomedical, environmental and industrial indications, but the project must always be aimed at bringing a better solution to a clear and proven unmet need. Diversity is encouraged and all qualified applicants from any nationality, social, ethnic, racial and gender categories are welcome to submit their proposal.

eureKAWARDS 2021 Jury

Siau Bai

Early Innovation Partnership Director for Johnson and Johnson Innovation

Marc Chevalier

Head of Bioentrepreneurship at Imagine Institute of Genetic Diseases

Sebastien Giraudier

Director of Neighborhood, VCLS Innovation Center

Neil Goldsmith

Co-founder of Evolva and Serial Entrepreneur in Synthetic biology

AurƩlie Grienenberger

Chief Business Officer at Eligo Bioscience

Sara Holland

Senior Associate UK and European Patent Attorney at Potter Clarkson

Richard Reschen

Associate Director Business Development & Licensing at MSD

Eric Rhodes

Chief Executive Officer of ERS Genomics

Scientific Jury

Dr. Antoine Danchin

Kodikos Labs, Institut Cochin, Uni. of HK Li Ka Shing Faculty of Medicine & Chairman of eureKARE SAB

Dr. Joƫl DorƩ

Research Director, MetaGenoPolis, INRAE & Member of eureKARE SAB

Dr. Leroy Hood

President and Co-founder, Institute for Systems Biology, Seattle & Member of eureKARE SAB

Prof. Dr. Sven Panke

Professor, Department of Biosystems Science and Engineering, ETH Zurich & Member of eureKARE SAB

Dr. Felix Rey

Head of Virology Department, Institut Pasteur, Paris & Member of eureKARE SAB

Dr. Pamela Silver

Professor of Systems Biology at Harvard Medical School & Member of eureKARE SAB

Dr. George Weinstock

Professor and Associate Director for Microbial Genomics, The Jackson Laboratory for Genomic Medicine & Member of SAB


John C. Waite

John C. Waite

Alexander Sorokin


Meritxell Teixido


Shamal Withagane

Rega Institute for Medical Research

Beatrix Suess

TU Darmstadt

Roy Bar-Ziv

Weizmann Institute of Science

Clemens Mayer


Heinz Koeppl

Technische UniversitƤt Darmstadt

Perjan Pleunis

Pihm B.V.

eureKAWARDS2021 Winner

Schedule 2021

Online application form available
August 1 st
Online application form closed
October 10th
Visio-pitch of semi-finalists before the Jury and selection of finalists October 20th
Visio-pitch of finalists before the Scientific Jury November 3rd
Visio-pitch of finalists during our public event and selection of winner November 10th

Roy Bar-Ziv

Weizmann Institute of Science

Pioneering cell-free technology on a chip

Pr. Roy Bar-Ziv was the winner of the 2021 eurekAWARDS! 


Need more information ?

Luxembourg | France | Belgium

Subscribe to our news to keep in touch

Luxembourg | France | Belgium